History of the University of Macedonia

The University of Macedonia is the second and "newest" University of the city of Thessaloniki, specializing in economics and social sciences. It was founded by the Greek State with Presidential Decree 147 / 10-4-1990 and is the evolution of the well-known Higher Industrial School of Thessaloniki, which was founded in 1948, operated for the first time in the academic year 1957-1958. In the academic year 2017-2018, the University of Macedonia closed its 60 years of operation as an Institution.

Today, the University of Macedonia has more than 12,000 students, with an emphasis on economics, administration and socio-political sciences. Achieving high quality in the life of the University is a primary concern. Factors that determine the quality are the high level of graduates and teachers, their participation in the production of new knowledge with publications of international prestige, innovative teaching methods, modern logistics infrastructure and specialized administrative staff. With the development of new and the upgrading of the existing Curricula of the Undergraduate Departments, the organization of a high level of Postgraduate Studies and the strengthening of scientific research, the University of Macedonia aspires to become one of the first Higher Education Institutions in the Balkans, but also in Europe, in its areas of specialization. It also aims to meet the needs of society, to collaborate with public organizations and private companies and to partner with other Universities and research centers in ways that will complement and enhance its activities. Finally, it contributes with its various initiatives and events to the cultural development of Thessaloniki and Macedonia, maintaining a constant dialogue with the citizens.

Important Stations of its History

1930 Night Commercial Vocational School of CCC

The Night Chamber of Commerce and Industry is founded by the Thessaloniki Chamber of Commerce and Industry, a development of which can be considered the Higher School of Industrial Studies of Thessaloniki.

1948 Establishment of ASBSTH

With AN 800/1948 the "Higher School of Industrial Studies in Thessaloniki" is established as a NPID of 3 years of study under the supervision of the Ministry of National Economy.

1954 Composition of the first Board of Directors

With the Ministerial Decision 70139 / 15-1-1954 of the Minister General Commander of Northern Greece, the first Board of Directors of ASBSTH is established.

1956 Approval of the Internal Regulations for the operation of ASBSTH

The "Internal Regulations of the Thessaloniki School of Industrial Studies" are approved. The Regulation regulates in detail all issues related to the administrative and educational organization of the School.

1957 Inauguration and start of operation of ASBSTH

The opening of the School begins with the introduction of the first students.

1958 Maximization of ASBSTH

The School is renamed "Higher School of Industrial Studies of Thessaloniki", the study becomes four years, "the degree of the School is equal to that of other Higher Education Schools", the supervision of the School is exercised by the Ministry of Industry.

1962 New Operating Regulations of ΑΣΒΣΘ

The School is now governed by a Board of Directors appointed by the Ministry of Education. Thus the supervision of the School is exercised by the Ministry of Education. Directions (1. Organization and Administration and 2. Economics) are introduced for the first time in the curriculum of the School.

1966 Publication and renaming of the School (ABST)

The School is renamed "Higher Industrial School of Thessaloniki" and becomes NPDD. Until the issuance of Royal Decrees provided by the relevant SW, the School is governed by a temporary five-member Senate.

1973 Awarding of first doctoral diplomas

The first doctoral diplomas are awarded.

1974 University governing bodies

Shortly before the fall of the dictatorship, university governing bodies were established in the School. The administration of the School is now exercised by the Rector and the Senate.

1985 Separation of Departments

The School is divided into two departments: the Department of Economics and the Department of Business Administration.

1990 University of Macedonia of Economics & Social Sciences

ABSTH is renamed "University of Macedonia of Economics and Social Sciences" and 3 new departments are established: Department of International and European Economic Studies, Department of Accounting and Finance and Department of Applied Informatics.

1993 Establishment of an Department of Educational & Social Policy

The Department of Educational and Social Policy is established. The Department will accept the first students in September 1997.

1996 Establishment of 2 new departments

Two new departments are established: the Department of Balkan, Slavic and Oriental Studies and the Department of Music Science and Art. The new departments admitted their first students in September 1998.

2004 Establishment of decentralized departments in Edessa and Naoussa

Two other departments are established: Department of Marketing and Operations Management based in the city of Edessa and Department of Technology Management based in the city of Naoussa.

2013 "Athena" Plan - Establishment of Schools

With the "Athena" Plan: the designation "Economics & Social Sciences" is removed from the official name of the University, the decentralized departments (Naoussa-Edessa) are merged with departments based in Thessaloniki and Schools are established for the first time. Thus, today the University of Macedonia consists of four Faculties (School of Economics and Regional Studies, School of Business Administration, School of Information Sciences and School of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts) based in Thessaloniki, which are composed of a total of eight Departments.